Healthy cooking as relaxation technique

I don’t know if you guys have been following the news but things have been pretty intense around here. I found it almost impossible to do homework over the weekend as my mind was elsewhere and I couldn’t clear my head and be all zen-like for the botanical assignment. This was it, by the way:

Drawing a slice of bread from observation. All those pores – actually there on the bread I was looking at. When I felt myself slipping and drawing random shapes I took a break for a while before I continued and so it took me a long time. It turned out pretty awesome, but it was grueling. I know I’ve only shown you stuff from one class so far – I will try and bring more from others next time.

Anyway, like I said it was a very difficult assignment given the situation and what’s going on in my head. What I usually do when stressed is completely ignore my assignments and cook or bake. I made brownies over the weekend and Shakshouka for dinner (It’s the best – I’ll post my recipe for you sometime), and I found this a good time as any to try a new recipe.

I’m trying to get into a routine of cooking for school – making enough in the evening to last for a few lunches at school for the following days. I’m also trying to make healthier food, I’m so sick of pasta and rice. And thus, for the first time ever, I made Quinoa tonight. I was worried it would be too hardcore for a first time health food, so I used a recipe that included two extremely yummy things – sweet potatoes and coconut milk. Since the recipe is in Hebrew (and located here) I’ll allow myself to translate it for you:

1 cup quinoa

1 onion, chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, chopped

3 small sweet potatoes, small cubes

1 1/2 cup water

3/4 cup coconut milk

Salt, Cumin

Sauté onions and garlic in oil (the recipe calls for a little water as well to steam fry it, I didn’t) for a few minutes. Add the sweet potato cubes and quinoa and stir, fry 1-2 minutes. Add water, coconut milk and spices.  Bring to a boil then cover and turn the heat down to simmer for 15-20 minutes.

yummm

You’re supposed to rinse the Quinoa first.. I didn’t.. I was lazy. I think it turned out real yummy. Yay for healthy quick recipes. There’s also this variation from Damn Delicious, “fried rice” Quinoa dish, which looks really great. Broccoli and zucchini are among my most favorite vegetables, I’ll have to try that next time.

Here’s to a quieter week and better news.

Leave a Reply

