Fun with Bokeh

Easiest DIY for a sweet photo effect.

Our back porch is filled with pretty light chains right now, since it’s all decked out for Sukkot, so it seemed like a great opportunity to try this.

All you’ll need is a large aperture lens (Mine is the ever popular Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II), black cardstock, tape (preferably black electrical tape but I ran out and used clear tape instead), a pair of scissors, a pencil and a paper-punch or an x-acto knife to cut out the shape.

Draw the outline of your lens on cardstock with a pencil, using the largest circumference of the lens as guide. Punch out the shape you want with a punch in the middle of the circle, or cut the shape out with an x-acto. I had a butterfly punch and I cut out the heart shape by hand and both did fine. The hole size was about 1cm but it’s not exact science, I think next time I’ll try it just a little smaller. Cut the circle out. Cut a long strip about 3cm wide (around 1.20”), and use the tape to attach the strip around the circle. Try to close any gaps that light might be able to pass through. It doesn’t have to be pretty:

yep, not pretty

And that’s it! snap away with the filter set snugly on the lens. If you don’t have any object you want to focus on and have the effect go in the background, like I didn’t, switch to manual focus to blur things up.

This would work best with a lot of light sources – like street lights, car lights and traffic etc.. If you try it, please leave a comment and show us, I’d love to see!

UPDATE: Yay! I’m featured on Craftgawker! I noticed the sudden spike in traffic and wanted to say welcome to my blog! Feel free to take a look around and check out the blog homepage for more posts about crafts and other lovely things. You can also sign up to follow the blog by email for future posts – I promise fun and crafty shenanigans as well as future adventures studying in a school of design. The link to sign up for new post emails is right there at the bottom of the page. You can also follow me on Pinterest (another link, right beneath that one) where I pin new posts. Thank you and have a lovely day!

3 thoughts on “Fun with Bokeh

  1. Pingback: Experimenting with light -photography | Amber – simply me

Leave a Reply

