Sewing: The recap

I’m very new to sewing. I had my grandma’s old Singer machine sitting on the floor for a year, then lent to a cousin, then back here without ever actually sitting down to try. And then one day I just sat with the instructions and the internet and set it up. I think the push was a sale price on a Craftsy course, that I watched as I studied about my machine. This french-seamed envelope pillow, with help of the course, is the first proper thing I sewed:

Isn’t it pretty? The lace was my own original addition!

I’ve been messing about with sewing for a while since, also buying lots of fabric and scraps. I’m still very much a noob. I know nothing about choosing fabric (luckily, I’m about to start studying Textiles..) and I cut a lot of corners, pun not intended. I know that in a few years I’m going to look back on things I made and go “what the hell was I thinking?”.

But in the meanwhile I’m getting a kick out of making my own clothes, which is I guess something I also do with knitting but this time it’s just so fast

The first clothing item I made, a few months back, was the coffee date dress.

That’s just me all over, looking for a first time pattern to make and going for the 10-piece constructed dress. I didn’t get the ruffle right at all, but I’m very proud of it. I wear it to work from time to time. One of the best thing about making your own clothes is that you can make them fit best to your measurements, and in this dress the torso and the skirt are actually two different sizes, so it sits perfectly.

The next presentable thing I made was this bag.

I love it! both the fabrics are beautiful and fit together nicely and I learned how to do lining, make a pocket and add magnetic snaps. I relied heavily on this tutorial from Ric-Rac and the construction of it blew my mind (you leave an opening! you sew! you flip!), and on Craftapple’s tip for installing magnetic snaps.

And now we get to the present time. Right now I have a pile of fabric I got on a wonderful trip to the fabric shops in Nachlat Binyamin in Tel Aviv. I already made a light knit fabric shirt (pics soon), and a failed attempt at a top since it was my first time working with silky fabrics and those buggers are slippery. Today I’m making a skirt. If it turns out well, I’ll probably show it to you in the next post.

3 thoughts on “Sewing: The recap

  1. The dress is fabulous! I pinned this pattern quite some time ago and from time to time I go back to it and wonder whether I should try making it. Then I decide it’s too difficult and close the tab. I guess now that I’ve seen yours it’s time I stop thinking and just get to work :)

Leave a Reply

