Embroidery craze

A while back I received this awesome lot from an incredibly generous Ravelry friend:

It made me feel like this. I will never want for any embroidery floss ever again.

After the initial shock and craving to dive in head first passed, I realized I should probably get it organized by colors and wound onto bobbins. So I plan to start a floss organizing week month project by the end of which hopefully all of it will be sorted and wound and organized in boxes like this:

Photo Credit:  Zen of Making

I love Zen of Making’s Haley’s post about organizing floss, especially since she dedicates a step to turning on mindless tv, which is important. I have lots of tv watching to make up but sadly no bobbin winder, which means all the more tv…

In the meanwhile, floss all thrown about the room, I’ve been doing a lot of embroidery, which the new banner demonstrates well (as well as my meager letter embroidery skills).

I just finished this cute pattern from comfortstitching. I love the aesthetic look of an embroidery hoop so I glue the fabric to the hoops and use them as frames, but soon I’ll graduate to embroidery as part of bigger projects. I’m running out of walls to hang hoops on, and it’s also a bit frustrating to buy more and more hoops for a one-time use, knowing it’s supposed to be a tool to aid with many embroidery projects.

I also made this for a friend!

Embroidery hoop Rony comics

It’s a drawing of her she made as part of a comic strip.

I love the iron-on transfer pen which lets you copy anything you want from paper to fabric and I bought one on Ebay a few weeks back. I printed the comic strip image (not forgetting to flip it so it’s a mirror image), went over the lines with the marker, then pressed them on to the fabric.

I was winging it with the embroidery and I’m still pretty new to the technique, so it’s a bit all over the place with satin stitch and backstitch. Next time I’ll know to plan more carefully how I cover my spaces, and match the stitch with the wanted result. Still, it’s pretty cute, and she liked it :)

Embroidery is definitely the hype for this week. Feel free to check out my embroidery board on Pinterest for patterns, tutorials and embroidery art that I like. The link to my Pinterest boards is right at the bottom of the page here. While you’re at it you can also sign up for email notifications or RSS (omg technology!).

~~~~~~~

On today’s baking corner:

zucchini bread muffins

zucchini muffins!

Smitten Kitchen’s Zucchini bread in muffin form + glazing (with Vodka!)

It’s my first time baking with zucchini so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Much like carrot cake, the veggie gives the cake texture and form but doesn’t really taste like it does outside of it. All in all, very yumm.

2 thoughts on “Embroidery craze

Leave a Reply

